made me think of my own grandmother…maybe we should also do some cooking the next time she comes home.

living aloha


My grandmother prides herself on her abilities in the kitchen.  She knows everything she makes is great and she isn’t afraid to say it.  She loves to watch people eat her food.  She serves big plates and claims that everyone who doesn’t have seconds or thirds is ‘on a diet’.

I’ve always loved my grandmother’s cooking, but I never spent time in the kitchen with her until just recently. I started to become curious about how she made salsas, fried eggs, rice (I still can’t master the rice after all this time), and other small things.  Five years ago I felt ready to move on to her more complicated recipes and asked her to show me one of her big ticket items: the red mole she makes for me every year on my birthday.  She said that the red mole was very complicated and wasn’t sure I would grasp it…

View original post 271 more words

Leave a Reply

